FFAS > News > 2011-2012 ASHSAA GIRLS' SOCCER > Shootout helps Samoana win HS girls varsity title

Shootout helps Samoana win HS girls varsity title

Samoana went on to win the shootout 4-1 after a 1-1 tie in a game totally dominated by Faga’itua.
With nine minutes remaining, the championship game’s MVP Fuataina Siatu’u struck a clearing header just inches away from the touchline and it sailed perfectly over the head of goalie Lyona Mata’u to find the far corner for the equalizer.
In that last nine minutes Samoana had several chances to close out the game including a one-on-one between Mata’u and the 2011-2012 season’s Player of the Year “Small” Yandell Liu with the goalie coming out on top in the end.
Faga’itua came out the stronger team in the beginning, dominating possession and attacks. This all lead to a perfect corner kick from Tasi Alailesulu that was headed in by Josephine Mata’u, twin sister of goalie Lyona.
Josephine Mata’u was on an attack frenzy that made her dangerous all throughout the game, and after the 1-1 draw, could have won the game for the Vikings with a point-blank shot at goal but rushed her shot and ended up hitting the far post.
Faga’itua brought their A-game with Alailesulu creating chances for her attackers up front from the midfield as well as helping out in the back. Along with Rasela Ta’ala, Faga’itua was feisty.
However, despite almost everything going the Vikings way, Samoana, while putting up their worst performance of the year scoring-wise, played great in limiting Faga’itua to only one goal while staying in the hunt for the equalizer.
Helped along with the miracle goal scored by Siatu’u, Samoana did enough to force the shootout that they went on to dominate 4-1.
Along with Siatu’u’s championship game MVP award and Liu’s Player of the Year honors, trophies for the champions and second place were given to the varsity and J-V divisions.
Donation Ape was given the varsity coach of the year award.
For the J-V, Samoana also won that division while the Tafuna Warriors finished second. Both teams were awarded with trophies. Vaiula Afa of Samoana was awarded the MVP award while Lisa Clark got the coach of the year honors for guiding the Sharks to the title.
All trophies were sponsored by Football Federation American Samoa and were handed out by FFAS President Iuli Alex Godinet.
“It was a great season and a great championship game,” Iuli said. “We thank ASHSAA and all the high school principals for their schools’ participation and support of our sport as well as DOE, its Athletics Department with Tumua Matu’u and her staff for their help as well.
“We would also like to thank the Kananafou Theological Center for allowing us use of their field for our games,” Iuli said. “The use of Kananafou’s field is always available to us every year and their support of our association is greatly appreciated.”

Related posts