FFAS > News > 2014 PRIVATE ELEMENTARY SCHOOLS SOCCER LEAGUE > Exciting finish to Private Elementary Schools Soccer League

Exciting finish to Private Elementary Schools Soccer League

It was a double championship day for two schools — Peteli Academy and Kanana Fou.
Peteli won the boys and girls titles for the 6-8 divisions while Kanana Fou won the grades 3-5 championships in both the boys and girls brackets.
Leo Mavaega, principal of Peteli Academy, thanked the federation, CCCAS (represented by General Secretary Rev. Reupena Alo) and Kanana Fou Theological Seminary for use of its field in his speech on behalf of the principals during the closing ceremony.
He also passed on a message to all teachers, coaches, players and parents as to the value of good sportsmanship.
“We must always value the recognition of good sports and realize there is no satisfaction if we have not played fairly, such as the FIFA’s theme of Fair Play. There is certainly no disappointment in losing, if we know we have given our best effort and have adhered to all the rules of the game,” Mavaega said.
“The involvement in sports also develops a person’s spiritual value because the higher standards which are practiced on the fields will be absorbed into one person’s personality and become his or her code of ethics.”
“This is what we wanted to do, to get the principals involved and today, principal Leo Mavaega has said it all, this is a partnership between the federation and all the schools,” said FFAS President Faiivae Iuli Alex Godinet. “To all of our young players here today, we hope you have enjoyed the game and the fun as much as we and your have enjoyed in watching you play and compete.”
FFAS CEO Tavita Taumua acknowledged local companies that contributed to the federation for the competition.
“Thank you to McConnell Dowell, Tautua Mo Oe Inc., KS Mart, Trophy & Things and Kristopher’s Store for their donations for this league,” Taumua pointed out.
KS Mart sponsored the trophies for 1st, 2nd, 3rd and 4th as well as the MVP award for the Boys Grades 6-8 division. Trophy & Things did likewise for the Girls Grades 6-8 division.
Principals present at the closing received gifts of a Thanksgiving turkey courtesy of FFAS, as well as Rev. Alo, the seminary president Rev. Dr. Moreli Niuatoa and the college’s students.
There were also prizes galore with each team nominating a Most Improved Player that received gifts from the federation such as a pair of shoes and soccer ball. All 33 teams — seven in the Girls 3-5; eight in the Boys 3-5 and nine each in the Boys & Girls 6-8 divisions — had an MIP recognized and received a gift.
All 33 teams also received a box of chips and case of juice courtesy of the federation and their competition sponsors.
Peteli defeated Pacific Horizon 4-1 in a very close match that was broken wide open in the final five minutes by the eventual champions. Peteli’s Iereneo Niu was named MVP.
South Pacific Academy beat St. Theresa 3-1 in the game for third place.
The final standings and teams Most Improved Players are Peteli (Alijah Baqui), Pacific Horizon (Walter Pati), SPA (Brett James Butler), St. Theresa (Chris Taimovai), Marist St. Francis (Lui Polu), Kanana Fou A (Johnnie Mavaega), Iakina Academy (Matthew Tagai), Samoa Baptist (Sio Lealiifano) and Kanana Fou B (Tomaakuino TJ Patu).
Peteli Academy beat Kanana Fou A handily 5-1 in the title match while St. Theresa won against Samoa Baptist 2-0 in the game for third place.
The final standings and teams Most Improved Players are Peteli Academy (Mary Monroe Afoa), Kanana Fou A (Diondre Ott), St. Theresa (Juliana Aporosa), Samoa Baptist Academy (Morgan Liu), Marist St. Francis (Precious Ieremia), Iakina Academy (Ida Leu), Kanana Fou B (Iris Penitusi), Pacific Horizon (Joyce MacKenzie) and South Pacific Academy (Nancy Satele).
Kanana Fou A beat Samoa Baptist 2-0 to clinch the title while Peteli won against Iakina 2-0 in the game for third place.
The final standings and teams Most Improve Players are Kanana Fou A (Teanua Ilaoa), Samoa Baptist (Oakland Salave’a), Peteli (Maota Saui’a Jr.), Iakina (Aubrey Tuaumu), SPA (Brian Butler), Kanana Fou B (Letiunasema Nuusila), St. Theresa (James Langkilde) and Pacific Horizon (Brady Corry).
Kanana Fou A edged Peteli in a thrilling match 3-2 for the title while Kanana Fou B beat Samoa Baptist in a shootout 2-1 after regulation time ended in a 0-0 draw.
The final standings and teams Most Improve Players are Kanana Fou A (Abigail Shalhout), Peteli (Paulia Fa’asoo), Samoa Baptist B (Davina Toafa), Kanana Fou B (Ruta Malae), St. Theresa (Tusiesea Fa’avale), Samoa Baptist A (Lene Uiagalelei) and SPA (Victoria Fale).